Healthchat

Conversations about optimal health.

Women’s Health, Menopause.

Leave a comment

This posting is a much requested article that I have written and handed out to friends and customers. Every woman faces menopause but few are prepared for it. This article arms you with facts and personal experience on how to survive the pre-menopausal years without murdering someone.

A Lifestyle for Supporting Peri-Menopause and Menopause or How to Survive the Change without Committing Murder.

 Many of my friends and business associates have asked me about surviving “the Change”.  Personally, the gradual changes of menopause have lasted from the time I was 47 until 54.  During that time I decided to forego the Hormone Replacement Therapy and use nutrition and lifestyle to alleviate the uncomfortable symptoms. 

 There is an excellent article on the entire subject at www.betterlifeunlimited.com   They  give a balanced, research-based viewpoint.  I highly recommend their website.  Just put Menopause in the search.

 So here’s the plan.  The process of menopause begins on average at 47 and lasts until around 52 years old. Of course not everyone fits into this average.  Some women are younger than 47 when the first symptoms appear and lots of women do not cease menstruating until after 52.   If you are having a disruption in your normal menstrual period, or experiencing some of the symptoms below see your gynecologist to rule out other conditions

The beginning of menopause is called Peri-menopause and is the time when the level of your hormones, estrogen and progesterone, are gradually changing. The most common symptoms of this period are:

hot flashes;  night sweats;  mood swings;   insomnia;   anxiety;  vaginal dryness;   skin changes;  decrease in bone mass;  increase in total cholesterol and decrease in HDL(good)cholesterol;  decrease in sexual desire;   decreased memory and concentration.

 I have experienced all of these symptoms alone or in combination during the last 7 years, however, none of them lasted long or were debilitating and I have lifestyle and nutrition to thank for it.   During this time I developed a plan of regular and varied exercise; walking, swimming laps, working out on machines, weight lifting and underwater running.  I exercised four to five times per week, one hour at a time or more. Included my husband and children whenever possible.

I also took supplements that were produced to pharmaceutical standards.   There are not a lot of manufacturers who do this, Nutrilite, is one.  Go to www.like.mychoices.biz for more information under the “Health” tab.  They are an investment but well worth not having all of the above symptoms.  And Nutrilite does offer a wholesale option.  You will have to pay for prevention or treatment and I decided that prevention was the best way to go.  If you are currently under a doctors care for a chronic condition and are taking any medicine on a regular basis, check with your doctor before beginning any supplementation.

 These are the supplements that helped me the most:

Black Cohosh and Soy helped with hot flashes

St. John’s Wort supports emotional health

Calcium, Magnesium with Vitamin D for bone density

Double X Multivitamin Multimineral supplement for overall wellness

Ginko Biloba and DHA supports  mental acuity

Natural Vitamin E Complete was recommended by my gynecologist to support healthy breast tissue

Omega 3 fatty acids in the Nutrilite Balanced Health or Heart Health

Primrose Plus for menstrual cycle support, helps with mood swings

 My diet included very little red meat, or whole fat dairy products.  I’m still finding ways to increase fruit and vegetable consumption and I try to limit sugar and refined flour.  I make my own bread with white flour/whole grain combinations.  The biggest difference in symptoms was seen with the addition of soy to my diet.  Every morning I would make a smoothie with soymilk, fruit and Nutrilite Protein Powder.  This would give me 15 grams of soy protein.  The recommendation is 25 to 50 grams per day to support heart health and 40-80 milligrams of isoflavones to help relieve menopausal symptoms. If you have a history of breast or ovarian cancer or if you are taking birth control pills please check with your gynecologist about the addition of soy to your diet.  Foods containing the necessary isoflavones from Soy are:

One-half cup of cooked soybeans

One or two 3-4 ounce servings of tofu

2 – 3 cups of soymilk

 1 – 2 tablespoons of Flax Seeds whole or ground also increases phytoestrogen intake.

 Smoothie Recipe

1 to 2 cups of Vanilla flavored soy milk

½ banana

1 Tblsp cocoa powder

1 scoop Nutrilite Protein Powder

Whir it up in a blender and drink with your supplements.

 You can also use plain soymilk but I recommend starting out with the Vanilla.

Also, add 6 fresh or frozen strawberries or one-half cup fresh or frozen blueberries.

Or one-half of a fresh peach.  I buy bananas when they are older and marked down, then peel and freeze them for smoothies. 

 Menopause is the ending of the childbearing years and a new beginning for the “Grandma years”.  It does not have to be a tortuous time of life.  Whether you decide to use Hormone Replacement, Diet and Lifestyle, Supplements or a combination of all three, the symptoms can be controlled and you can live a healthy, productive life during and after “The Change”.  If you have questions or concerns read the article at BetterLife first and then contact me.                 Laura Powell Like, MSN  – llike@verizon.net

Author: Laura Powell Like

Hi my name is Laura Powell Like. My career in nursing, healthy lifestyles and prevention of disease spans over 25 years. A graduate degree in Parent-Child nursing has helped me work in the field of womens health, raise 4 children of my own and study research concerning how to acheive a healthy lifestyle in the western culture. Currently I own a business and focus on mentoring other leaders as well as making recommendations to my clients about diet, supplementation, exercise and prevention of disease. I consult with experts and health practitioners who have the education and experience needed to fully answer my clients questions and concerns. This blog is about education, personal experience, and getting the word out. So enjoy, I welcome your comments and questions.

Leave a Reply

