Healthchat

Conversations about optimal health.

How We Sent Four Children to College on One Income

Leave a comment

5652_523586227517_67600046_31132441_714423_n

My husband and I did something really smart 30 years ago when our children were little.  We were offered an opportunity to set up an income stream with our consuming dollars and we said “okay, we will try it”.  We have been forever grateful to the people who not only introduced us to the concept but stuck around to help us implement it.  With the additional income I was able to make a choice about working outside the home or raising children fulltime and I chose to stay at home.  We have also been able to send all four children to the school of their choice with the help of scholarships.  None of them got a free ride so we were able to make up the difference.

So how did we do this?  We set up our own store for consumables.  Instead of giving all of our dollars to the big box stores and the food market we were able to buy from ourselves, saving the wholesale to retail markup and we found a few friends and family who also wanted to buy from our store.  The extra volume earned us monthly income.  It was simple and as easy as changing our own point of purchase and sharing it with others.  I have 8 to 10 customers and our own household buying from my online store.  My customers have become my closest friends and they look forward to new products and ways of saving their own consuming dollars. 

There is a great book titled Household Gold by Steve W. Price that explains the concept very well and I am throwing it out to all of you, my readers, because I know that there are many of you that worry about where it’s all going to come from, especially if your children want a higher education. Our own online store helped us tremendously and it’s a smart way to run your household budget.

If you want more details about what we have done just shoot me an email @ llike@verizon.net and I will be happy to answer your questions.

 

Author: Laura Powell Like

Hi my name is Laura Powell Like. My career in nursing, healthy lifestyles and prevention of disease spans over 25 years. A graduate degree in Parent-Child nursing has helped me work in the field of womens health, raise 4 children of my own and study research concerning how to acheive a healthy lifestyle in the western culture. Currently I own a business and focus on mentoring other leaders as well as making recommendations to my clients about diet, supplementation, exercise and prevention of disease. I consult with experts and health practitioners who have the education and experience needed to fully answer my clients questions and concerns. This blog is about education, personal experience, and getting the word out. So enjoy, I welcome your comments and questions.

Leave a Reply

